Case design - Khadas VIM3/L modular magnetic click together case

Hey everyone

I’m new to Khadas (in fact I don’t even have a board) but I was inspired to make a case for the VIM3/L based on the 3D model that was put out. I made a similar one for the LattePanda Alpha. Magnets allow the case to clip together quickly. It also allows you to quickly connect to other parts like a screen case assembly, etc. You can see my screenshots and the similar LattePanda example below. Long story short… I can’t actually test my design, so I was going to put it out there to see if anyone would like to have a go. It does require some 6x3 mm disk magnets.

Thanks!

11 Likes

Hi, it looks interesting.
Is it purely for the PCBs or you also think about having a version with the TS050 touchscreen?
I possess VIM3 and there are certain problems with the original Khadas case.
One problem is that e.g. USB C cable does not fit well to the board, when it’s installed in the case. The USB C plug is too short. Then it would be good to make it compatible with the steel plate from Khadas better for passive cooling. The backside of the board gets really hot.

1 Like

Hi sorry for the delay! The website thought I was a BOT since I posted immediately after joining. My account got put on hold so I couldn’t post until my account was reviewed. Anyway, the best part about this design is it is flexible.

Here is my LattePanda alpha version. The case magnetically mounts to accessory cases. So really there is just the one base case and you remove a cover, install the case onto something else.

4 Likes

Maybe this video would better describe it. Basically I want to bring this to Khadas board

4 Likes

Wow, amazing!

Is is possible to optimize the design and fixed below issues:

• Buttons not work
  • Wi-Fi Antennas cannot mount

Have fun!

1 Like

I can help you with the Vim3 dimensions if required.