Custom Android Build - What I wish I would have known

I recently acquired a VIM4 and some supporting accessories to replace a tablet I installed in my car several years back. I wanted to switch to a more modern device that might afford me better capabilities than a tablet that was impossible to keep charged (I did not drive the vehicle enough)

Getting the VIM to work well in an automotive setting meant I would need to change the Android image to enable a secondary logic board to help manage its power. While I have plenty of experience with Linux and as an Android user, I’ve never tried building a custom Android ROM. It was a little more complicated than the old “configure, make, make image.”

This post contains the notes I took during this journey. I’m leaving them here in the hope that they may help another person get started with a custom rom on the VIM4. Note, I am running all of this from a Debian 12 (Bookworm).

Preparing for the Build

• Make sure you have a ton of disk space in your build root. I have a filesystem dedicated to this, and it’s sitting at 95% of 480GB after a successful build.
  • Khadas Docs: VIM4 Build Android [Khadas Docs]
    • Build out the prerequisites in the AOSP documentation. Don’t bother downloading the source tree from the AOSP project; you will be pulling the Android source from Khadas instead (see next document).
    • You will download Android as part of the VIM4 Build Android [Khadas Docs] document. However, there are a couple of gotcha’s I ran into.
      • This may have been my fault, but I did need to pull large files from git (git lfs pull) in two different locations:
        • ${PROJECT_ROOT}/device/khadas
        • ${PROJECT_ROOT}/common
    • I had to install these supporting packages as part of the process. Note that there may be more; read the docs!