Building Android for VIM3 according to directions

Hello all, I am trying to learn how to build android for VIM3 and I am a beginner.
I am following the directions here and moveing step by step down the list.

I have found that several prerequisites are needed that are not mentioned.
I installed repo and git that are not mentioned for instance…
I found an alternate method to install git-lfs
So here is where I am running into more problems that I need help with:

Download the andoid source code…
we are supplied this command:
repo init -u https://github.com/khadas/android_manifest.git -b khadas-vims-pie

but it fails like so:
dale@UB18:~$ repo init -u https://github.com/khadas/android_manifest.git -b khadas-vims-pie
File “/home/dale/.repo/repo/main.py”, line 79
file=sys.stderr)
^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Can anyone assist please :slight_smile:

I found a way past this error by switching to python3 with these two commands:

sudo rm /usr/bin/python
sudo ln -s /usr/bin/python3 /usr/bin/python

The below info is left here for examination only, it did not work:

The following are prerequisites needed to complete the objective to download the source code for android under Ubuntu 18.04

Package “git”
followed with config
Package “git-lfs”
Package “repo”
followed by change of default python to python3

1. sudo apt update
  2. sudo apt install git
    2a) git config --global user.name “Your Name”
    2b) git config --global user.email “youremail@domain.com
  3. wget https://packagecloud.io/github/git-lfs/packages/ubuntu/bionic/git-lfs_2.13.2_amd64.deb/download.deb -O git-lfs_2.13.2_amd64.deb
    3a) sudo dpkg -i git-lfs_2.13.2_amd64.deb
    3b) git lfs install
  4. sudo apt install repo
  5. sudo rm /usr/bin/python
  6. sudo ln -s /usr/bin/python3 /usr/bin/python

From this point “repo init” followed up with “repo sync” commands should work.

EDIT: it appears some of the prerequisites are not complete somehow as the U-Boot components failed to repo sync