VIM3 USB-C port hid mouse emulation

Which Khadas SBC do you use?

VIM3

Which system do you use? Android, Ubuntu, OOWOW or others?

Ubuntu, Kernel 4.9.241

Which version of system do you use? Khadas official images, self built images, or others?

Official

Please describe your issue below:

So I want to emulate an HID-compliant mouse, but I can’t figure out how to enable gadget mode for the USB-c port. I added otg-device in the /boot/env.txt and tried to load the g_hid module (it says it isn’t found ). Tried gadgetfs too but it seems to be missing in ubuntu ( tried this: Building Gadget USB Module - Openmoko but didn’t work ). I am pretty new to this and can’t find anything helpful.

@IRules you will need to modify the device tree to enable dwc2 on the USB-C node for OTG usb mode.

Also g_hid is not enabled on the default configuration of the linux kernel for the VIM3.
You need rebuild the kernel using Fenix

you can run make kernel-debs to setup the kernel building system.

Within build/linux/arch/arm64/kvims_config, add the configuration you need

and run make kernel-debs again, within build/debs/... you can find the kernel packages to install on your vim with the added config.

Hello, after much trial and error, I am still unable to get g_hid to work ( I think ). This is everything I enabled, did I miss something?
Kvims config:

make kernel-config

/boot/env.txt ( did sync and reboot after changing it )

Yet, my /dev ( should have devices in the hidgX format ) and modprobe g_hid

Edit: here is the documentation I am following to test for USB HID gadget: Linux USB HID gadget driver — The Linux Kernel documentation

@IRules maybe you need to add other kernel configuration to make it run, probably.

please look at this to enable the otg USB config

you also need to add to arch/arm64/configs/kvims_defconfig

+ CONFIG_USB=y
+ CONFIG_USB_SUPPORT=y
+ CONFIG_USB_PHY=y