Setting up LTE connection

does anyone know the steps for setting up the LTE 4G? under android? I have a green light on the M2X board but android does not see any new hardware and there are no settings for the 4G provider. I have not installed a sim card yet. Please help!

Hello, I do not have experience with the LTE 4G, though I would ask if you have set PCIe mode?

Yes, it is set to PCIe mode. I had a SSD connected as well which worked fine. I have tried the Huawei ME906E card and a Sierra Wireless EM7455 4G card both with the same result. A green LED lights but there is no recognition of new hardware in Android. I have installed the latest Khadas release as well.

Hi @OneLineOfCode,

I am not a professional engineer, but I successfully implemented this. There are following some tips for you about LTE connection,

1. What development board do you use? Do you install firmware with LTE support (For Edge-V, you need to flash Edge_Pie_V190912.7z)? Do you have the M2X, LTE module and development board connected correctly? The following connection pictures, based on Edge-V, are for your reference.

1. You need to check if your LTE module could support the LTE’s frequency band of your SIM card. You can refer to https://www.frequencycheck.com/carriers.

Hope this could help you out.

5 Likes

Thank you for that information! So the first thing I need to know is does the Vim3 support 4G LTE? Does anyone know this? I am running the latest android pie release

Hi @OneLineOfCode,

I contacted our engineer, the VIM3 only support Quectel EM06 LTE module now, if you use other LTE module, it will out of work. By the way, the newest firmware can support LTE services, please note.

1 Like

@OneLineOfCode If you want to use youself LTE module . You must to clone the source code and try to add the driver to the kernel . The reference materials can be obtained from the merchants you purchased this module . At present, we have added only Quectel support EM06 LTE driver module .