Router / firewall /vpn hub / light media server project (VIM3+M2X+WifiAP+SSD+LTE)

Hello,

Newbie here, so forgive me if my questions are stupid. :innocent:

I am knew to the SBC and ARM arena, and I have been researching a lot before posting.
I’m hoping to find some support with the following, so I can become a member of the Khadas community.
At first glance, it seems the Khadas products fit my use cases :
I need a 4g/LTE hostpot with maximum band coverage to carry around the world.
After investigating, I decided to build my own instead of buying a commercial solution (such as Netgear MR1100).
Why go the easy route, if we can have fun tinkering, heh? :cowboy_hat_face:
I am looking at acquiring a VIM3 Pro board and an M2X extension, alongside an advanced LTE module, such as a sierra wireless em7511, and play with carrier aggregation.
At the same time, I’d like to deploy an advanced firewall and vpn client on the device.
Ultimately, I envision using the device as a hotspot when on the move and also as a router / firewall /vpn hub / light media server when at home or staying in hotels for extended periods.
So at this stage I have several questions:
1 - Linux options:
a- Can I expect to run Fedora or Ubuntu, with all main drivers working?
b- If so there anything that would prevent using virtualization (eg small router / firewall like openwrt in as guest VM), with maybe passthrough of the Gigabit ethernet port and Wifi card?
2- Data Throughput
Let us assume my CA-LTE connection can provide peak data throughput of 400 Mbps when torrenting.
a- Can the CPU handle the load?
b- Does the M2X extender use only one PCIe lane or four ?
What would be the maximum data throughput from that extension and into an SSD drive?
c- What real transfer speeds can I reasonably expect from the onboard Wifi AC chip in AP mode?
3- External Battery, Sizing and Autonomy
Since I will be using the device on the move, I need to think about battery options.