NPU for bit mining

Just curious if anyone has leveraged the NPU for bit mining and what kind of results it gave.

Well, we were talking about this over on the Khadas discord, and how one could harness its processing power, but it went into a stalemate, as we didn’t know how we could procced into the topic,

or First assumptions was to go barebones and use something like OpenCL as a standard way of Running the code, and then we thought of something like an NPU model that we could just run on it…

but in all both methods are complex, and the model method is hard, as no one has documented such a thing till now…

but in pure performance it depends on how many instruction cycles it takes to do one mining (hash) operation… (including things like converting INT8 to FLOAT, yada yada yada…)

@wll1rah was the one to discuss, maybe he can pour some more knowledge on the topic for you :slight_smile:

Thanx for the info, I am not a programmer so its not something I would take on, I was just curious if someone had taken the shot at it and if so what the results were :slight_smile:

with the kind of cpu power needed to complete a hash now and the NPU being at least in theory so powerful, I was just kinda day dreaming…

could become a reality so, don’t worry,
we might crack the Da Vinci code and be able to use in a very near future… :smile:

1 Like

The driver for NPU is closed source… NPU is supposed to support OpenCL but no documentation/driver for that. Though some matrix operations are possible using available API but porting it might be hard task.

As for the performance with proper drivers It should provide the full 5 TOPS (INT8 only), since the NPU can’t handle floating point it might be a huge disadvantage.

So thats a bit of a bummer but in true Amlogic form it amounts to promises of drivers and library’s that take way way too long to be released…

Great hardware that we cannot make use of…