Newbie here but a few simple questions I had

Which system do you use? Android, Ubuntu, OOWOW or others?

Ubuntu

Which version of system do you use? Khadas official images, self built images, or others?

Khadas official Ubuntu image

Please describe your issue below:

Hello all, I am kind of new to the whole Khadas micro ARM PC’s

I have 2 questions.

1. Am I only allowed to install images made for the Edge2? If so where are all the different OS images, I only see Android and Ubuntu.
  2. Can I download something like Linux Mint from their website as an .iso file and get that to work on the Edge2?

I am basically trying to understand where do I get all the different distributions or software to run besides Ubuntu and Android.

I can answer #2 partially with yes you can install other variants because I am currently running a Debian custom build that we put together from GitHub - pyavitz/debian-image-builder: Debian image builder for single board computers so I assume with works the other distros can be done since we currently are able to run Debian/Ubuntu/Devuan. If you do have any questions for us stop by our discord and ask if you try it out. There are two active discord servers right now for the builder and a new Khadas oriented one… the links if needed are
Khadas - Khadas server
arm-img-builder - Builder server

1 Like

Reply to digitaltrance, someone from khadas please correct me if I’m wrong.

So on PC’s you have a number of defined standards that abstract away all the low level stuff, this allows you to load any operating system designed for x86.

Arm in the past did not have this but it does now have an equivalent to the above called the “system ready” certification and linux distros like Fedora Workstation support this and you can install it on an SR system just like an x86 PC but…