Khadas 808 Drum Machine Controller

Which system do you use? Android, Ubuntu, OOWOW or others?

Ubuntu 22.04.3 LTS

Which version of system do you use? Khadas official images, self built images, or others?

Khadas Official

Please describe your issue below:

Programmable 3.3V || 5V GPIO pins query

Disclaimer: I am very new to SBCs (experience < one year).
Disclaimer: I promise this is Khadas VIM related.

Overview

1. Power Supply

I am trying to use my VIM4 to control a 808 Bass Drum synthesiser module.

The module requires power (obviously) and this is where I am asking for some insight, please!

To power my bass drum module, I need a +12V rail, a -12V, a +5V line and a ground.

So far, I know (think, at best) that I can use:

• PIN 1 = 5V continuous (i don’t know the official term - ‘always on’?);
  • PIN [5, 9, 14, 17, 21, 24, 28, 34, 40] are GND.

I want to achieve:

• A way to take two 12V rails from my Khadas VIM4 to use as power for the drum module.

2. CV Trigger (3.3V => 5V)

I have learned this morning that I can toggle PIN22 (PIN.Y17 or GPIO501) high and low using WiringPi (thanks to the official guide, where I adapted the demo source code).

• However, this is problematic because the pin supplys 3.3V, which is inadequate to trigger the CV trigger input of the bass drum.

I have then learned that I might be able to use a ‘logic level shifter circuit’, using some NPN and p-MOSFETs. You can critique my simulation here.

I tried a slightly different approach too but I do not want to use relays due to mechanical noise.

• The push-button switch emulates the python code, turning the pin high/ low.
  • When HIGH, the pin sends 3.3V to the NPN, allowing current through. This opens the MOSFET and allows the 5V rail to supply the output.
  • The MOSFET receives its 5V supply from Khadas PIN1.

I think that would work, at least to achieve the 5V CV trigger I require.

import wiringpi as GPIO
from time import sleep

INPUT = 0
OUTPUT = 1