Getting started on an audio player

Hi

I am new to Khadas.
I have just purchased a VIM3L, a Tone 1 board, and a touch screen.
My task is to create an audio player, with a number of tracks that will be stored on the device.
So, streaming / WiFi/Internet is not required.

Is there a recommended / suggested path to take, for a newbie, to get an audio player up and running?

I have very little experience with Linux, but more with Android.
I have also seen posts talking about Volumio - can this Volumio be customised to hide a lot of menu options etc. from the end user, so they just get to choose the tracks from a list - more like a jukebox?

If anyone has any pointers to bring me somewhat out of the dark, I would appreciate it.
Once I get my hands on the right reading material or examples, or tutorials, I can get busy learning.
However, sometimes the most important decisions are made right at the start - which OS to use etc.

Thanks in advance for any help

Hi @gar1234, Welcome to the khadas forum.

Currently volumio images need to be fixed to the latest version, but it is quite easy to set up and use Tone1 with running the VIM3L on Android/Ubuntu/Debian images. TS050 touch screen is also supported in these OSes, but not in volumio.

If you are familar with android, you can go ahead with that!

Else, if you are looking for a simple and lightweight linux based player, you can grab the linux desktop image variants and choose from the plethora of various different audio players on linux.

I’ve linked some guides for you down below for you to check them out, there are a lot of very nice GUI audio apps.

Cheers.

Apps and Guides:
Gnome Music player

G4 Music player

Amberol Music player

Review:

I can run these softwares on my device:

Hope this motivates your project, do let us know how it goes!

Cheers

Hi Electr1

Thank you for the quick reply and all the information and links :blush: