Power Supply Suggestions

I would like some suggestions on COTS supplies that work well the VIM2 using the USB type c connector

I have have 3 usb AC-DC convertors I’ve been trying to power the VIM2 with and have had mixed luck.

Amazon Charger - Runs but when I turn on WIFI in Android the board shuts down.
Google Pixel Charger - board doesn’t even boot up
Old Ipod Charger - board works but shuts off when I have an external drive attached and try to access something.

Hi, maredsous10:
Can you provide the specs for each DC adapters?

Basically, 5V/2000mA+ is recommened for VIM2.

Enjoy!

Thanks. I just ordered a Khadas PSU from gearbest.

Any idea why a Google Pixel charger wouldn’t work? It’s rated at 5V/3.6A I believe.

I guess some adapters spec as Quick-Charge, no sure if the adapters will check hardware model first before working.

Does the Google Pixel charger works fine to other devices? (Except VIM2 and Google Pixel Phone)

I’m not an expert in this field, but AFAIK the latest USB Type-C PD specification includes a negotiation between the charger and the device, in order to set the proper current intensity. That’s because the spec can provide up to 5V 20A (that is, 100W), and at the maximum it would fry a small device and its battery. On the other hand, a small current that can be appropriate for a phone (e.g. 1.5A) would make a bigger device take too long to charge.

So my guess is that, since the VIM2 does not implement that negotiation, but only uses the Type-C port as a plain power connector (like a barrel jack would do), then some “smart” chargers will simply not provide any current, and maybe others will just default to the minimum or to any other pre-set current.

More info: https://www.digikey.sg/en/articles/techzone/2017/mar/designing-in-usb-type-c-and-using-power-delivery-for-rapid-charging
https://www.pcworld.com/article/3017182/hardware/usb-c-charging-universal-or-bust-we-plug-in-every-device-we-have-to-chase-the-dream.html

1 Like