Vim2 Max wont turn on (partially solved)

Hi folks.

I have a Khadas Vim2 Max 64GB with official heatsink, fan cooler and red case. It is beautiful!

I only use it to watch Netflix, YouTube and some IPTV. No other peripherals.

4 days ago I was watching IPTV and it suddenly stopped working. It wont turn on even if the white LED stays on. There was no way, I tried M-Register, Power ON and Reset procedure, but no video output trough HDMI. Just a solid white LED.

So as I am an electronics technician and Electrig Engineer, I started to probe the power supplies of my Vim2 V1.2 pcb using the provided schematic from here:

and

It took me about 5 minutes to discover that the voltage “VDD_EE” was not present. All the other power supplies were ok. Then I checked the datasheet of the “MP8756GD” and did probe it to see if it was enabled, and sure it was enabled (trough pin 12) and there was 5V on VIN pin.

To be sure that the problem was only at this MP8756 chip, I forced the 0.8V output with an external power supply. And guess what? It turned on normally! I did solder two wires over C9 (this is the output of capacitor from the 0.8V core voltage)

I have the Vim2 since 2018.08.22. Bought it from Aliexpress store “DIYzone Store”, and they told me to post this issue here in this forum.

I would like to fix it. The question is: Where can I find this component in order to fix my Khadas vim2 64gb V1.2? I have the tools for soldering the component using hot air.

Some images below:

Hi,
If it turn our our quality issues, can return back for free.

If you want to try it by yourself, we are happy to ship you one or two chips instead.

Have fun!

Thank you. But I live in Brazil, I think it is a little expensive to send items to another countries. It may be better if you send me these two IC’s then I can fix it.

Have you ever seen this problem before?

Honest to say, no yet :smile:

Thanks, it works for us, please PM me the shipping information.

Good day!