Noob wants to set up Tone Board VIMs Edition in car

Hello All,

I am a complete Noob to Khadas and the Tone Board but a long time car audio hobbyist and after reading everything I could find on the Tone Board I want to set up a system in my car with the VIMs Edition using a to be decided audio player outputting into the Tone Board then directly to my boot mounted DSP via Coax with the Tone Board connected to a small dash mounted LED display. From what I have read I ‘think’ this is possible but to be sure I am wondering if anyone who is in the know about the capabilities of the Tone Board VIMs edition would reply with a yea or nae.

Thanks for any replies.

D.

1 Like

Definitely possible!

1 Like

tsangyoujun, thanks for replying.Your car setup looks great! I have a question if you don’t mind. What device are you using for playback and how is it connected? Also are you using a dedicated DSP?

Thanks.

D.

@Donanon that’s not my car actually - random video pulled off YouTube. :smile:

Doh! My mistake. BTW can VIM3L used with Tone Card input and output i2s ?

Thanks

So I am going to order a VIM3L, 3705 Cooling Fan. Tone Board and TS050 Touchscreen for my Car SBC system. I want to use S/PDIF directly to my DSP. Will this set up allow me to do this? Or should I order a VIM3 Basic?

if you want spdif, you do not need a TB, just use a cheap USB-to spdif dongle

Thanks for the reply ravelo.

I am confused. I thought I needed a digital audio player and outboard DAC with VIM3L to output to my DSP. Will the VIM3L play audio files from the Micro SD card? I have read everything I could find on this site about the VIM3 boards but I could find nothing on audio playback.

VIM models 1, 2, 3 and 3L have SPDIF available on the GPIO, pins 13 and 14. See VIM3L specs here, look at 40-pins line.

If your DSP accepts Coaxial SPDIF input, all VIM models should be able to supply it with SPDIF signal. Optical SPDIF is also a possibility.