How to set up a modem on khadas vim 1 pro

Hello. I plan to buy khadas vim or vim 1 pro. There is no wired Internet at home. Question. Can I configure a USB modem for such systems as: Android, leebre elec, Ubuntu as in the example article for raspberry pi? For example, as in this article :http://c3bo.ru/raspberry-pi-i-3g-modem/. I don’t want to take your device to use the Internet and not be able to do so. I’m a newbie, I don’t want the device to lie on the shelf without doing anything. Or is it better to start with raspberry?

1 Like

@Krank

You can connect to the wireless network on our board.

1 Like

I have already written above. There is no Internet at home. So there is no wi-fi. If there was Wi-Fi, it would be a different question.

Hello, I have no experience with USB connected 3G networks. However, if you find it isn’t possible with the VIM1, you may want to consider the VIM3 or VIM3L. Both of those can make use of the M2X expansion board and a 4G lte module.
As previously stated, I have no experience with this use case, someone else will need to determine if the VIM3/3L will suit your needs.

1 Like

yes, but only with good 4g coverage in your area

for example, I have good 4g coverage in my area, but I live on the 15th floor and my operators have problems with this, if only I change the operator in my case

but of course it all depends on the module on reception, I have no doubt about the good quality of the module from Khadas!

:blush:

Hello @Krank,
It’s common for anyone to be a newbie when you start out new on something (unless your DNA was hardwired for something like that) :slight_smile:

But regarding the cellular modem, If you do a bit of digging you can find a variety of cellular modems available on the market at cheap prices, these are sure to work on your device but you just need a bit of patience to modify the OS to work with it (adding linux modules etc.) which we will definitely help you
without a problem.