Start up issues

Hello complete noob here bought the khadas vim to just use as a media box ie kodi etc was really pleased with it i thought id get my mum and sister one too. Anyway the 2 units have come but when they start up they keep cycling from the khadas logo to the 4 coloured android circles then starts again it will eventually go to the home screen but can take as long as 10 mins. I’ve looked into updating via tf card using a new vim image from the docs but get E: failed to mount /dev/block/mmcblk0 on /sdcard by read only (invalid arguement) and (device or resource busy).

Has anyone any ideas?

Thanks in advance mike

Ok so ive managed to load new firmware onto the device it i used a new sd card and that seems to have done the trick now 1 box seems to be working fine managed to load a few apps on but the 2nd box uploads the new firmware but wont let me connect to my home router everytime i click network it just restarts any ideas?

Seems that your Adapter is not spec with 5V 2A+, kindly check it and keep us updated.

Thanks!

Hi Mike, I had the same problems in August. Swapped my power adapter for 3+amps and it worked for another month then one day it stopped powering up all together. Spent another couple weeks emailing GOUWA (staff) and eventually got an RMA to return it. It’s been 3 months. Still waiting for replacement/repairs/refund, which ever is fastest. Unfortunately it looks like it will be April before anything happens so 6 months will have past in the meantime and I wanted to but 2 more VIM2 Maxs for my family in the meantime. However since this is such poor service I think I will spend my money someplace else. Nice unit, but the firmware seems to be fragile. :frowning:

Hi GOUWA,

How is my repairs/replacement/refund proceeding?

Ticket: E17112800976
Order Number: W1708220507493852